Why is Everyone So Down?

As a new owner/operator of a wedding venue, each week I come in contact with dozens of people from all walks of life. My wife, Morgan, and I are on site every weekend for pre-event setup and also for each wedding and reception. One thing we have noticed is that many people just don’t look very happy. Now, during the preparation phase it’s understandable that some people will get a little tense. They want everything to go perfectly for the bride and groom on their special day. That’s not unusual.  What really seems out of place, though, is how many people look downright unhappy at the wedding itself, and also at the reception, which is supposed to be a party.

This got me to thinking. What’s going on here? I’m afraid we are well on our way to being a very uptight society. Not morally, but emotionally. We are now in the age where our work goes with us everywhere. Cell phones, PDA’s, Blackberrys. When are you ever just free to relax? Too many of us are overworked, over scheduled, over comitted and over stressed. Even when we’re supposed to be having fun, it’s just too darned difficult to turn it off. I’m afraid we Americans are slowly losing our joy for living. What’s more, I don’t see any difference at all in most of the Christians I know. That’s a real mystery to me and a tragedy.

What would it take for us to just cut loose and have some fun? I’m not talking about doing anything immoral or foolish, just relaxing and feeling the joy of being alive. Isn’t living in the moment, enjoying every day as a gift from God something that should come naturally to us? I want that. And I want you to have it too.

About glennjack

A pilgrim on a long journey. A son of God seeking the face of his Father. A father of 4. A writer, musician and overall deep thinker. A lover of the wild and untamed places. A seeker of truth, justice and peace. I am all of the above, and more.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Life, Religion, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why is Everyone So Down?

  1. Mike Ege says:

    Relaxing would mean surrendering control of the universe Glen. Don’t you understand that I am so important that the very essence of life depends on me? And if I were to slow down and enjoy, the world might come crashing down.

Leave a Reply

