Freedom, Rhythm and DST

This year as we approached the annual “spring forward” weekend when most of the country sets its clocks forward one hour, I saw the statistic that heart attacks increase slightly nationwide during the first week after the time change. In the past I had always taken it for granted that adjusting to the time change was just one of those difficult facts of life and that some people were better at it than others. This year, however, I have been privileged to participate in an unusual experiment. For the first time in almost thirty years, I am completely self-employed at the time of the change. In years past I was just another guy trying to adjust his normal schedule one hour earlier. It would be difficult, but I always managed to succeed and then enjoy the extra daylight hours in the evenings.

This year it was completely different. Although we reset the clocks like every other year, there was no compelling reason to force my body to realign to the new time.  To complicate matters, we also homeschool all our kids and allow them to set their own study schedules. As a family we found ourselves strangely adrift in the time transition. For the most part, we haven’t realigned at all, we’re just doing everything an hour later than we did last week. We’re all staying up later at night and sleeping later in the mornings. While that sounds ideal, we have found it to be strangely disorienting. For one thing, I almost never know what time it is because I stopped wearing a watch almost six months ago. Moreover, alot of our time based routines didn’t just move, they evaporated completely.

I am finding that the biggest adjustment is not in my body but in my head.  Over the years I have been so completely conditioned to my “standard” work schedule that I’m still struggling to let it go even though my new schedule actually feels more natural.  Put another way, I’m having trouble grasping a new kind of freedom I have just gained.

I find myself wondering if there aren’t other people, especially in America, who don’t struggle with the same issue. Most of us virtually live by the clock, with more activities on our schedules than we have time for.  Instead of finding the natural rhythm of our lives we shoehorn our lives into the man made schedules we get handed to us.

I also find myself wondering if there aren’t other areas in life where there may be untapped sources of freedom.  I really want to explore that. I know that I am free in Jesus from the rules and regulations of the Law of Moses. I want to live more like that, knowing that Jesus has already fulfilled the letter of the law for me. I want to be totally free to love everyone I meet and not judge them or put any of my own expectations on them. I want to live in the total freedom of knowing that I am unconditionally loved by God, not because of who I am or what I do but because of who He is.

And finally, I want to embrace change more readily than I have ever done before, without fear, anxiety or even preconceived ideas of what’s ahead. I guess that’s what’s meant by walking by faith, not by sight.

About glennjack

A pilgrim on a long journey. A son of God seeking the face of his Father. A father of 4. A writer, musician and overall deep thinker. A lover of the wild and untamed places. A seeker of truth, justice and peace. I am all of the above, and more.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Life, Religion, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

