Leaving

My last post was about returning home. Whenever one goes somewhere, they also leave somewhere else. Thus, it is true that I am leaving San Diego, quite possibly forever. It would be easy for me to look back on my time here with bitterness. After all, I have had some very difficult times of loneliness, emptiness and sorrow right here in the spot where I am sitting now. I can’t look at it that way, though. In some ways, this has been an experience of a lifetime. Many people never get a chance to completely leave their familiar surroundings and live alone in a new place. Although it wasn’t what I wanted at the time, it was what I needed. There can never be any doubt about that in my mind. I needed what I would call a “hard reset”. What I got was a complete change of scenery, a different job, and a life, albeit temporary, in a new and different place. I can’t say that I loved it, but I can say that I learned from it.

So now I’m leaving. What, exactly am I leaving? Well, at my new job here, I met a guy from Austin, of all places, that I really hit it off with. I’m pretty sure we will be friends for a long time, and I’m looking forward to seeing him back in Austin. That’s one. Here at the house where I’m living, I have met a couple of guys that I became friends with. Rick, a former musician, who is now a mortgage banker, and Peter, who is, gasp, a mortgage banker who writes poetry. Pete’s first book of poems has just been published. Together, we form an odd trio that mysteriously gets along pretty well. Our place is pretty mellow, which we all like. No drama, no conflict, no extraneous noise. It’s good, really. I will miss these guys, but I hope to stay in touch with them. They both have expressed interest in coming to Austin for a visit and I would love to show them around.

I am leaving a very mellow work environment as well, which is pretty unusual for the business I’m in. I will miss that. There is a very diverse group of people who are all working together very well. It’s good to see that, and be a part of it. My boss, Betty, is one of the most laid back bosses I have ever had. Hats off to you, Betty. I will miss you too.

The room I have been living in, well, it’s more than adequate. Thank you, God, for that. My landlord, Bruce, has been super. He’s a good guy. The weather here has been fantastic for the most part. When it rains everyone freaks out a bit, but that’s ok.

So, while I am anxious and ready to go home, I am still leaving some things that I really like. I wasn’t prepared for the way that hit me today for the first time. There are people here, and places, I will probably never see again. That’s the way life’s seasons change. Even when the change is for the better, there is almost always something to be given up in the process.

Peace.

About glennjack

A pilgrim on a long journey. A son of God seeking the face of his Father. A father of 4. A writer, musician and overall deep thinker. A lover of the wild and untamed places. A seeker of truth, justice and peace. I am all of the above, and more.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Life, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Leaving

  1. Rain says:

    I will pray for your new life, you’re leaving San Diego, I just moved here but now I have to face a blizzard in my life.

Leave a Reply

